NZIFST - The New Zealand Institute of Food Science & Technology Inc.

Bookmark and Share

NZIFST Annual Conference

NZIFST Honours Board

Back to the top Back to the top

NZIFST Honours Board
NZIFST Members in the news
NZIFST awards, honours and prizes
Roll of Honour - past recipients of awards
Dr J. C. Andrews
Prof. Kelvin Scott
Dr Garth Wallace
Dr Mike MatthewsThe 2008 recipient of the NZIFST's most prestigious honour, the JC Andrews Award, is Dr Mike Matthews. Dr Matthews is a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Food Science & Technology and a graduate in Food Technology from Massey University.

After completing graduate studies in Food Science at the University of Wisconsin, Dr Matthews spent his working life in the New Zealand dairy industry. This included the New Zealand Dairy Research Institute, Rangitaiki Plains Dairy Company (later Bay Milk Products), the New Zealand Dairy Board (Technical Marketing roles in Japan, including with the Board's joint venture company, Nippon Proteins), New Zealand Dairy Group and, for 13 years before his recent retirement, Dr Matthews was the CEO of the Tatua Cooperative Dairy Company.

During his early working career, he played a leading role in introducing ultrafiltration into the dairy industry and establishing the commercial production and marketing of whey protein concentrates by the New Zealand dairy industry.

More recently, he was a member of the Prime Minister's Science and Innovation Advisory Council.

Marion CummingAt its 2008 Annual Conference, for only the fifth time in 15 years, NZIFST  presented its Exemplary Services Award to a valued Member - Marion Cumming.

Marion originally joined the Institute 36 years ago and was briefly Secretary of the Canterbury Branch before work took her to Auckland. She first joined the Auckland Branch Committee in 1980. Marion was made a Fellow in 1993 and throughout the years has been very active in both Auckland Branch and National affairs.

She has led the Journal Committee for many years; including through the extensive negotiations as we went through 2 publisher changes in quick succession. Marion also worked extensively on the recent rewrite of the NZIFST Constitution. Both of these activities were at the same time as she managed the Institute�s budget and finances as Treasurer for the maximum allowable 3 years.
After, relinquishing the reins as Treasurer in 2006, Marion has helped to turn the Auckland branch around and it now enjoys some of its biggest ever attendances at its monthly functions.