NZIFST - The New Zealand Institute of Food Science & Technology Inc.

Bookmark and Share

NZIFST Annual Conference

NZIFST Honours Board
Professor Kelvin Scott

Kelvin Scott was the inaugural professor for the new discipline of food technology officially established at Massey in 1960. This extended the earlier Logan Campbell Chair in Dairying.

By 1964 the first food technology students were graduating, but there was no professional organization to which they could belong. Professor Scott started corresponding with the Institute of Food Technologists (USA). He then broached the idea of forming a New Zealand organization at New Zealand's first Food Technology Conference, which was run by Massey's Department of Food Technology in May 1964.

Within a month a draft constitution was in circulation, and on 17 September 1964 the draft constitution was agreed, along with the name of the new organization, namely "The New Zealand Institute of Food Science and Technology". This was ratified at the 1965 conference.

Appropriately, the Institute's first President was Professor Kelvin Scott, with Garth Wallace serving as Secretary/Treasurer.

In 1967 Professor Scott became the Institute's first Fellow, and in 1986 he received the J. C. Andrews Award, NZIFST's highest honour.

The Kelvin Scott Memorial Prize for undergraduate students studying the Bachelor of Technology degree at Massey University is awarded annually by NZIFST in his honour.

Contributed by Ron Hooker FNZIFST. Ron Hooker attended the very early Food Technology conferences, served on the NZIFST Council for two different periods, was the foundation chairman of the Canterbury Branch of NZIFST and was the NZIFST Executive Secretary for a number of years. He is currently still the (shared) Secretary of the Canterbury Branch NZIFST since the foundation of the branch.

Back to the top Back to the top

NZIFST Honours Board
NZIFST Members in the news
NZIFST awards, honours and prizes
Roll of Honour - past recipients of awards
Dr J. C. Andrews
Prof. Kelvin Scott
Dr Garth Wallace

Professor Kelvin Scott