MINUTES OF SPECIAL GENERAL MEETING

OF

THE NEW ZEALAND INSTITUTE OF FOOD SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY INC.

Tuesday 30th November 2021

Room 3.11, Gregory Building Department of Food Science, University of Otago, Dunedin

and

Via ZOOM

5.34pm – 5.40pm

Followed by a presentation from Miranda Mirosa (UoO)

"Upcycling Food: A trend that will define the industry! Insights into consumer acceptance of upcycled foods made from waste"

1. Present – APPENDIX 1

(Quorum = 25 members with full voting rights).

Total present = \sim 96 comprising 71 members and up to 25 non-members (note some members and non-members were dropping out and re-signing in which made counting difficult).

There were three locations:

Otago University Hub	6 voting members, 5 member students, 9 non-members
Wellington Hub	6 voting members
On-line	47 voting members, 7 students, ~16 non-members

Voting members = 59	Fellows	15
	Professional	20
	Standard	20
	Graduate	4

Student Members (not eligible to vote) 12

2. Apologies

Chathurika Samarakoon Jerry Wellington Andrew Cleland

3. Voting rights of members

All current financial Graduate Members, Standard Members, Professional Members, Fellows and Honorary shall have full voting rights and one vote each.

4. Declaration of Conflict of Interest: - None declared

CURRENT RULE:

10.4 Other Officers

10.4.1 The Honorary Treasurer shall not hold office for more than three consecutive terms, except where the Board appoints a Member to fill this office which becomes vacant during the year.

PROPOSED RULE:

10.4 Other Officers

10.4.1 The Honorary Treasurer shall not hold office for more than six consecutive terms, except where the Board appoints a Member to fill this office which becomes vacant during the year.

MOTION: Voting via ZOOM on-line poll

Moved that the Constitutional amendment above be accepted to increase the term of office for the Honorary Treasurer to a maximum of 6 consecutive terms.

Moved: Phil Bremer / Seconded: Don Otter Carried: 58 Yes / 1 No

6. Close of Special General Meeting

7. Presentation from Miranda Mirosa (UoO)

"Upcycling Food: A trend that will define the industry! Insights into consumer acceptance of upcycled foods made from waste"

		IFST Spe	cial General	Meeting - 30 No	vember 20	21: ATTE	INDEES
IEMBE	RS						
Hub	Member type		Last name	Hub	Member type	First name	Last name
	Fellow	Richard	Archer		Standard	Claudia	Bettesworth
	Fellow	Carol	Barnao		Standard	Libby	Bird
OS	Fellow	Phil	Bremer		Standard	Carolyn	Brown
	Fellow	Carol	Cullen		Standard	Janette	Busch
	Fellow	Anny	Dentener-Boswell		Standard	Richard	Edmonds
	Fellow	Paulette	Elliott		Standard	Marie	Grandjonc
	Fellow	Richard	Gray		Standard	Richard	Guy
	Fellow	David	Illingworth		Standard	Dudley	Haines
OS	Fellow	Miranda	Mirosa		Standard	Stephanie	Herbert
OS	Fellow	Indra	Oey		Standard	Annabelle	Kuan
	Fellow	Donald	Otter	OS	Standard	Sze Ying	Leong
	Fellow	Colin	Pitt	WTG	Standard	Glen	Neal
	Fellow	David	Rout		Standard	Carolina	Pennisi For
WTG	Fellow	John	van den Beuken	WTG	Standard	Grace	Powell
_	Fellow	Andy	Williams	-	Standard	Kim	Shanks
	Graduate Y1	Henry	Battell-Wallace		Standard	Nicky	Solomon
	Graduate Y1	Kevin	Kreutz		Standard	Madison	Stratton
	Graduate Y1	Sumesh	Thenkaramaharaj		Standard	Abbey	Symes
	Graduate Y2	Marcus	Loi		Standard	Louise	Taylor
	Professional	Valerie	Adams		Standard	Wihelm	Zabern
	Professional	Dominic	Agyei	OS	Student	Lizzie	Cunliffe
	Professional	Mario	Alayon-Marichal	00	Student	Molly	Goodisson
	Professional	David	Bayliss		Student	Hannah	Hady
WTG	Professional	Grant	Boston		Student	Soundarya	Karamcheti
wio	Professional	Hamish	Conway	OS	Student	Charlene	Li
	Professional		Dunn	00	Student	Shanshan	Liu
	Professional	Esraa	El Shall	OS	Student	Stephanie	McLeod
OS	Professional	Graham	Eyres	03	Student	Siephanie	Menson
WTG	Professional	Janet	Goodman	03	Student	Jessica	O'Connor
WIG	Professional	Neala	Hart	03	Student	Victoria	Purdy
	Professional	Scott	Knowles				Tu'akoi
		Sarah			Student	Braden Erin	
	Professional Professional	Simon	Leakey Loveday		Student		Young
		Michelle					
	Professional		Neyra				
	Professional	Nick	Parker				
00	Professional	Sally	Ronaldson				
OS	Professional	Patrick	Silcock				
WTG		Benjamin	Sutherland				
	Professional	Judith	Walker				
lon-Men	nbers						
		Magby	Azab				
		Katie	Bright	Citizens 12.3			
		Priyanthi	Chandravarnan	University of Otago			
OS		Grace	Clare	University of Otago			
		Teamar	Dabdawb	University of Auckland			
		Elise	Failholm				
OS		Phillippa	Foster				
		Nelson	Harper	Massey University			
OS		Tessa	Honeyfield	University of Otago			
		Camryn	Johnson	University of Otago			
OS		Annie	Li	University of Otago			
OS		Adrian	Lim	Watson's Eatery			
OS		Kaixin	Lim	Watson's Eatery			
		Morgan	Liu	University of Auckland			
OS		Deborah	Manning	KiwiHarvest			
		Darshika	Narayan	ADM			
		Emma	Poppelwell	Emma Poppelwell			
		Sarathadevi		University of Otago			
		Raseetha	Siva	Universiti Teknologi MARA			
				Malaysia			
		Sheila	Skeaff	University of Otago			
		Diane	Stanbra	Rescued Limited			
OS		John	Thomson				
OS		Stella	Zou	University of Otago			
		George					
		Piotr				1	1